Scottish Dream Photography

Film Emulation Software

I recently spend some time evaluating the Nik Collection and the VSCO Film┬áplugin for Lightroom. The long and short of it is that I really preferred the VSCO plugins, just because you don’t have to leave Lightroom to manage the effects. The idea of generating a TIFF to go off and process it then to bring it back to Lightroom was too much of a faff for me, so I plumped for the latter. I was also looking for a subtleness to the images, and the Nik collection seemed geared to being a bit on the LOUD side.

Anyway – I’ve just completed my first set of pictures using the VSCO tools and I’m really impressed. You get some decent sharpening tools and the vignette tool is a lot more subtle and less ‘artifacty’.

Let me know what you think!

Keep Looking,

Ross

This entry was published on January 31, 2015 at 5:21 pm. It’s filed under Photo Trips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Film Emulation Software

  1. Kate Mail on said:

    Helpful article. Thank you very much. Btw, Binfer is a great tool for sending entire albums to someone. See http://www.binfer.com/solutions/domains/file-sharing-solution-for-professional-photographers.

Leave a Reply

