Scottish Dream Photography

A Derelict Harbour on a Sunny Afternoon

Last Sunday I woke up with a dreadful hangover. I was so disappointed in myself because I had big plans to head for Loch Awe to get some pictures of Kilchurn Castle up there in the autumn light with the hills changing colour and starting to receive their first snows of the Winter.

It took me a while to right myself and shake off the remnants of the previous night’s Rum, but when I did, I decided to head for Bowling Harbour – a favourite spot for shooting in the past. I’ve done a few long exposures there with varying degrees of success.

The sun was out and there was no one around, which is always a good start. I noticed a great V shape appearing in the sky and it’s reflection on the Clyde gave the effect of a saltire in the sky – a sign that you can’t keep Scotland down.

I then focused my attention to the West where the sun was setting. I used my big ND filter to get some longer exposures and the pink tinge it gives to pictures was more of an advantage in these shots than a hindrance.

It was quite a stunning day all in and shook off the last of the hangover. I hope you like the pictures  – and as you can see, I saw the Beast of Bowling Harbour (though I’m still not quite happy with the composition of that one!).

Keep Looking,

Ross

This entry was published on November 22, 2014 at 3:05 pm. It’s filed under Photo Trips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “A Derelict Harbour on a Sunny Afternoon

  1. Great vibe! Kudos! : )

Leave a Reply

