Scottish Dream Photography
Forest fear

Boxing Day Wander – The Neilston Pad

The Neilston Pad is a rather odd drumlin to the South of Glasgow. It’s 260m above sea level so it’s not a big hill, but it really is quite a character. If you’re standing on Byres Road on a clear day looking towards Partick, this is the hill you will see on the horizon.

It’s topped with an old pine forest, which in the right light can be a stunning and atmospheric place to be. I’ve been going there since I was a wee boy and I never tire of it.

Having said that, it has been a number of years since I’d been up that way, so when the family talk on Christmas day turned to a Boxing Day walk, my Dad’s suggestion of the Pad was heartily agreed by all.

It was a surprisingly dry day – recently the weather has been terrible leading to me longing for some nicer light to go out and snap some photos (this will be a familiar story if you’ve been reading this blog before). It was cold however, but my Dad, Sister and her boyfriend all wrapped up to work off the previous days’ turkey dinner.

The light was pretty flat, but there was a lovely sliver of gold on the horizon, which you can see in some of the pictures.

The pines themselves, are a mixture, but there are some Scots Pines in there I’m sure – nothing twists and turns over decades like a Scots Pine. Being exposed at that height makes for some interesting shapes in the trees; they are twisted and scarred by the weather and each other.

In terms of processing, I’ve gone for the gritty look for a lot of the tree photos. There’s not much to work with when it’s so dull, but you can let me know what you think.

We headed off from the trees and I grabbed a few other snaps on the way back to the car, but I think I’ll be back there one evening to catch the light from the west on the bark.

Keep Looking,

Ross

This entry was published on December 29, 2013 at 6:09 pm. It’s filed under Photo Trips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

